United Arab Emirates Introduction





United Arab Emirates

Formal Name	United Arab Emirates (Al Imarat Al Arabiyah Al Muttahidah) The Seven Emirates, In Order Of Size, Are: Abu Dhabi (Abu Zaby) Dubai (Dubayy) ,Sharjah (Ash Shariqah) ,Umm Al Qaywayn ,Ajman, Al Fajayrah,And Ras Al Khaymah	Short Form Of Name	UAE
Capital	Abu Dhabi City	NO Of Emirates	7
Official Languages	Arabic	Population	9,771,000 (9.77)
Currency	Dirham	Term For Citizen(S)	Emirati(S)
Independence	The United Kingdom Announced In 1968 And Reaffirmed In 1971 That It Would End Its Treaty Relationships With The Seven Trucial Coast States, Which Had Been Under British Protection Since 1892. Following The Termination Of All Existing Treaties With Britain, On December 2, 1971, Six Of The Seven Sheikhdoms Formed The United Arab Emirates (UAE). The Seventh Sheikhdom, Ras Al Khaymah, Joined The UAE In 1972.	Country Telephone Code	+971
Major Cities	Al Ayn, Capital Of The Eastern Region, And Madinat Zayid, Capital Of The Western Region, Are Located In Abu Dhabi Emirate, The Largest And Most Populous Emirate. Dubai City Is Located In Dubai Emirate, The Second Largest Emirate. Sharjah City And Khawr Fakkan Are The Major Cities Of The Third Largest Emirate—Sharjah	Government Type	Federation Of Monarchies
Holidays	Public Holidays Other Than New Year's Day And UAE National Day Are Dependent On The Islamic Calendar And Vary From Year To Year. The Holidays Are: New Year's	Natural Resources	Oil And Natural Gas Are The Primary Natural Resources In The UAE, And



Day; Muharram, Islamic New Year; Mouloud, Birth Of Muhammad; Accession Of The Ruler Of Abu Dhabi—Observed Only In Abu Dhabi; Leilat Al Meiraj, Ascension Of Muhammad; First Day Of Ramadan; Eid Al Fitr, End Of Ramadan; UAE National Day; Eid Al Adha, Feast Of The Sacrific; And Christmas Day

Petroleum Production Is The Most Important Industry

